My Favorite Breakfasts!

You didn’t ask for it but I’m gonna share anyway: my favorite breakfasts!

So in case you didn’t know, I’m a working woman now.  Also in case you didn’t know, I like to eat.  It gets pretty hard to keep up a triathlon training schedule & full time work schedule AND feel like you’re eating enough healthy food.  Here are a few of my favorite breakfasts that keep me going during the week:

  1. Avocado Toast.am a millennial.  This breakfast can all be eaten on a slice of bread, and is packed with protein and good fats to keep me full until lunch.  Here is how I like mine:
    • A slice of Dave’s Killer Bread, toasted.
    • A light spread of almond butter.
    • Half an avocado, mashed.
    • Hard boiled egg, sliced on top.
    • Healthy sprinkle of salt and pepper.
  2. PB&J Smoothie.  This one is probably the easiest!  The frozen fruit in this smoothie gifts you a dose of fiber, and peanut butter packs some protein.
    • One cup of frozen berry mix.  Right now we have one that has blueberries, strawberries, cherries, and blackberries.
    • 1 ping pong ball sized blob of peanut butter.  The natural stuff tastes better in this.
    • A drizzle of honey.
    • Whatever liquid you want, we have been doing coconut water, but almond milk would work too.  Definitely don’t use juice, too sweet.
  3. Oatmeal.  I know I know, this is less exciting.  For me, oatmeal is more about what goes inside.  Some nut butter and some other crunchy things make the oatmeal texture much more palatable, and keeps me going til lunch time.  I go for a sweet & salty combo as well.  Here is what I put in mine:
    • Oatmeal (duh).  Get the plain minute-oats, to make it quick.  Steel cut is better if you are a morning champ though.
    • A spoonful of peanut or almond butter.
    • Dried cranberries.
    • Mixed nuts (walnuts, hazelnuts, & cashews)
    • Sunflower seeds.
    • A drizzle of honey.
    • Sprinkle of sea-salt.

 

How do you like your avocado toast?

-jules

One thought on “My Favorite Breakfasts!

Leave a Reply

