jules v. Pinterest: Peanut Panang Beef Curry

Consider this post the first installment of many in which I find healthy recipes on Pinterest and attempt to recreate.  This week my boyfriend and I attempted Peanut Panang Beef Curry.  Yum.

So here is the recipe you can find on Wanderlust Kitchen, along with many other tasty options.

IMG_5588

Looks delicious right?  Here are the ingredients and directions it called for:

  • 1 c. coconut milk, divided*
  • 2 Tbsp. Panang curry paste**
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 2 Tbsp. fish sauce
  • 2 Tbsp. palm sugar***
  • 3 wild lime leaves****
  • 1/2 lb. boneless beef (such as tri-tip), very thinly sliced crosswise into 2-inch strips
  • 3 Tbsp. ground peanuts*****
  • 1/4 c. basil leaves, preferably “Thai” or “Holy” basil, roughly chopped
    Directions:

    1. Pour a half cup of coconut milk into a wok or skillet set over medium-high heat. Once hot and foaming, add the Panang curry paste and use the back of a wooden spoon to break apart any large chunks. Stir the curry paste and the coconut milk until fully combined.
    2. Reduce the heat to medium and add the rest of the coconut milk as well as the water, fish sauce, palm sugar, and lime leaves. Let simmer for a few minutes then add the thinly sliced beef and stir.
    3. Cook the beef, stirring occasionally, for 3 minutes. Add the ground peanuts and reduce the heat to low. Stir to combine the peanuts with the curry.
    4. Just before serving, turn off the heat and remove the wild lime leaves. Add the basil leaves and stir. Serve with rice.

Overall this was an easy recipe to follow.  Here are the things my boyfriend and I did differently:

  • We used venison!  Sounds strange to make a curry dish with venison but my boyfriend comes from a family of hunters, and honestly we find it to be leaner than beef, plus you know for sure they aren’t being force fed hormones.  So we sliced up some lean venison really thin.
  • We ditched the fish sauce.  I might have forgotten it at the grocery store.
  • We used standard red curry paste, nothing special.  I get mild because I get reflux-y if I eat too much spicy food.
  • We used brown sugar instead of palm sugar, because we’re still in college.
  • We used lime juice instead of leaves, again, because we’re still in college.
  • We sauteed in some spinach, because I try to put it in everything, and then served with rice and steamed veggies, and topped with chopped peanuts.

OK, drum roll….here is our product:

FullSizeRender

So its not the prettiest, I honestly decided to blog this in retrospect.  Had I decided before, I probably would have plated it nicer.  But it turned out delicious, and we had leftovers, which to feed my boyfriend and have extra is a big deal.  Here are my scores:

Level of Difficulty: 3/5    Overall pretty easy, just some simple sautéing.  I give it at least a moderate because it involves cooking meat, which for me is always tricky.

Taste: 4/5      Not quite Indian restaurant level, but it would definitely satisfy an Indian craving.  And the benefit of cooking your own dish lets you have control over what you put in it.

Would I make again?   Absolutely!  I can’t wait to try this same recipe with chicken.

Overall for this Pinterest attempt: Nailed it.

-jules

Leave a Reply

