Cold weather gear

I have returned to the frozen tundra that is my home.  Its not really a tundra- but I do live in the mountains of NC so it does get significantly colder than the rest of the state.  Before I lived here, I lived in a beach town, where it was flat and warm pretty much all year round (I’m talking running in shorts in January, people).  So moving up here was a pretty big adjustment.  Here are some of my favorite products that have helped keep me warm while on my winter runs:

Sugoi Subzero Tights – $80

sugoi sub zero

This tights are fleece lined and wind resistant, with a jelly band around the ankles to keep the warm in and cold out.  I love them  because they don’t feel bulky- other wind resistant tights feel like you are wearing neoprene, but these don’t.  Bonus, they are super flattering if you are looking for tights that will pull double duty as street clothes – and yes, I am one of the shameless women who wear tights as pants.  If you are too, these fit the bill.

Sugoi Firewall Jacket– the latest version is $150, but you can find earlier versions for less

sugoi firewall

Basically if you are an endurance athlete and haven’t heard of Sugoi, you are doing yourself a disservice.  I bought this jacket when I worked at a running store for cycling initially, it got too hot where I used to live, but it is perfect for the mountains.  It is lined with silver dots and it is windproof, so it gets toasty really quick!

Brooks Ghost with Gore-tex – $150

brooksghost

I am a die-hard Brooks fan.  And so you can imagine my glee this winter when I realized they made my shoe in Gore-tex, so now my feet can stay dry and warm on snowy, muddy trails.  If you are a neutral cushion lover craving dry, warm feet, give these a try.

Smartwool PhD ultra light running socks – Prices vary, but get them on Sierra Trading post, they are the cheapest, but STP will send you coupons for ever and ever after.

smartwoolsocks

Tech wool is one of my favorite things on the face of the planet.  These keep your toesies warm, but aren’t bulky, they feel just like regular ultra thin running socks, so no blisters.

Hotsnapz hand warmers – $12 a pair

hotsnapz

I have pretty significant Reynauds syndrome and these things are magic.  You click the silver disk in the center of a gel, and this causes a chemical reaction and the whole thing warms up.  I stick them in my mittens.  Yes, I wear mittens.

Finally, keep your ears warm with a Nike reversible ear warmer– about $17

nikeearwarmers

I like this particular one because it is fleecy on one side and neoprene on the other. I keep the fleece towards my ears and the neoprene on the outside to keep the heat in.

Happy running and stay warm!

-jules

2 thoughts on “Cold weather gear

Leave a Reply

