Barriers

Wow!  In one day I already have some followers and comments.  Thank you so much for the positive messages!  When I saw in my email that I had comments my first thought was “Oh no.  Someone has found me and thinks I am terrible and now they’re calling me out on it.”  How bad is that?  That was my first instinct, that people were going to be mean and negative.  So thank you for proving me wrong, it really shows how much I need to be more positive about the world and reframe my thoughts and expectations.

So in my second blog post ever, I’m going to talk about barriers.  As an exercise professional, one of the most important things we need to discuss with our clients is their barriers to physical activity.  Barriers to physical activity involve any reason, real or imagined, that keeps someone sedentary.  It can be not having time to exercise, not having a gym or equipment, to not having the confidence to start exercising.  I have my own barriers too.  Working out is not on my radar when I’m not at home or in my regular routine.  Usually when I go to my parents house for the holidays, I don’t even work it into my day…for 20 days straight.  But I am marathon training, and as an exercise professional, I need to lead by example.

Today on my training plan I had a cross training day, so I counted my hours of walking through the mall as my cardio (Waited til the last minute to get my Christmas gifts, oops!).  And then I did an easy resistance workout using what weights I could find around my parents house.  I could only find some 5 and 10 pounders, but thats okay because I am in early base training so I’m staying low weight and high reps for the next few weeks.  I did 3 sets of weighted lunges, squats, calf raises, and the typical arm exercises (curls, rows, TYIs), with 15 reps in each set.  I also did some single leg squats, some pushups and dips, and followed it up with my go-to core routine that I do after all my training runs.  I was sweaty and proud.  It may not have been my usual workout, but I did something.

Going back to barriers, another barrier I need to overcome is this negative perception I have of myself.  I am my biggest barrier.  The best thing I can do for myself is work towards having a more positive and open outlook on myself, because, after all, when one door closes, another one opens 🙂

jules


Leave a Reply

